Mission Statement

My name is Matt and I am a Pop Culture Sieve. I can’t help it, there’s so much to consume nowadays. As a result, I have opinions which don’t fit in a tweet and I imagine my Facebook friends are tired of them (even though I’m probably sharing these articles on my account anyways).

I also want to write for a living and ideally it’ll be for Television, I can’t guarantee that so I’m going to use this as a chance to get better and to create some samples to show in the future.

What spurred this on in my mind was when I was given the chance to write a review of ‘Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice’ for Indietips. It was more than just a one sentence joke that summed up my feelings, it allowed me to go further in depth. I’m a film student, if I’m going to critique direction with regards to lighting and cinematography, I better elaborate further than ‘the direction was good/bad’. Anyways, I’ll link that below so you can give it a read, I’d appreciate it.

‘Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice’ from the studio that brought you ‘Catwoman’ – Spoiler Discussion

So what can you expect going forward?

At the moment, I’m aiming to write at least one piece a week, alternating between comics and TV with the occasional film review/essay thrown into the mix. So you can expect ‘Praise Alpha! Praising Omega Men!’ (all working titles) early next week in which I’ll do everything I can to persuade you to buy Tom King and Barnaby Bagenda’s fantastic 12 issue miniseries in collected form, an essay on ‘You’re the Worst’ and depression (which I’m currently planning) come the first couple days in September to commemorate the release of its third season and ‘Why Avengers: Age of Ultron is the superior Avengers film’,  a title which I expect will be seen as inflammatory by some. I may even type up my thoughts on Suicide Squad, but I honestly don’t think it deserves a 3000 word review.

If you’ve read this, thank you. If you’re going to continuing reading, then you have my eternal gratitude.

Keep circulating the hot takes.

 

Leave a Reply

